tar
11 years agoupstream: Fix extraction of device nodes. master
Sergey Poznyakoff [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 13:04:41 +0000 (15:04 +0200)]
upstream: Fix extraction of device nodes.

Cherry-picked from upstream commit
3913675640f65bb4774429d369681957b528996e:

* src/extract.c (extract_node): Do not mask out node type.
The bug was introduced in commit ea964cce.

11 years agoupstream: fix bug with -C and extracting directories
Paul Eggert [Tue, 26 Oct 2010 03:20:19 +0000 (20:20 -0700)]
upstream: fix bug with -C and extracting directories

Cherry-picked from upstream commit
acb77ac5bd4bf9248070c9c512525eee8258aebd:

Problem reported by Denis Excoffier in
<http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/bug-tar/2010-10/msg00034.html>.

* src/extract.c (extract_dir): Use mkdirat, not mkdir.
* tests/extrac16.at: New file, to test for this bug.
* tests/Makefile.am (TESTSUITE_AT): Add it.
* tests/testsuite.at: Include it.

This file is a placeholder. It will be replaced with the actual ChangeLog
by make dist.  Run make ChangeLog if you wish to create it earlier.

11 years agofix for syntax error induced when resolving merge conflicts
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 23:54:26 +0000 (17:54 -0600)]
fix for syntax error induced when resolving merge conflicts

11 years agoMerge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 23:29:19 +0000 (17:29 -0600)]
Merge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian

Conflicts:
build-aux/config.guess
build-aux/config.sub
rmt/rmt.c
src/extract.c
tests/testsuite

11 years agoMerge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 23:22:36 +0000 (17:22 -0600)]
Merge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig

Conflicts:
doc/Makefile.am
doc/Makefile.in
doc/dumpdir.texi
doc/fdl.texi
doc/gendocs_template
doc/intern.texi
doc/mastermenu.el
doc/parse-datetime.texi
doc/snapshot.texi
doc/sparse.texi
doc/stamp-vti
doc/tar-snapshot-edit.texi
doc/tar.info
doc/tar.info-1
doc/tar.info-2
doc/tar.texi
doc/value.texi
doc/version.texi

11 years agoImported Upstream version 1.24
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 23:20:21 +0000 (17:20 -0600)]
Imported Upstream version 1.24

11 years agochangelog entry associated with the patch reversion
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 23:15:44 +0000 (17:15 -0600)]
changelog entry associated with the patch reversion

11 years agorevert patch introduced in 2004 to work around a dpkg bug long since resolved
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 28 Sep 2010 21:00:09 +0000 (06:00 +0900)]
revert patch introduced in 2004 to work around a dpkg bug long since resolved

11 years agoprepare to upload
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 07:10:32 +0000 (01:10 -0600)]
prepare to upload

11 years agoupdate standards version
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 07:07:22 +0000 (01:07 -0600)]
update standards version

11 years agopatch from upstream to fix mixed file mode representation problem in rmt
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 06:33:49 +0000 (00:33 -0600)]
patch from upstream to fix mixed file mode representation problem in rmt

11 years agochangelog update
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 17:38:04 +0000 (11:38 -0600)]
changelog update

11 years agoincorporate patch from Michael Banck fixing loop on symlink extraction with -k
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:10:15 +0000 (12:10 -0600)]
incorporate patch from Michael Banck fixing loop on symlink extraction with -k

11 years agoadd xz-utils back to the Suggests list
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 15:32:51 +0000 (09:32 -0600)]
add xz-utils back to the Suggests list

11 years agomake lintian happy
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 14 Jun 2010 17:56:01 +0000 (11:56 -0600)]
make lintian happy

11 years agoprepare to upload
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 14 Jun 2010 17:06:10 +0000 (11:06 -0600)]
prepare to upload

11 years agokill two birds with one stone
Bdale Garbee [Sun, 23 May 2010 15:25:06 +0000 (09:25 -0600)]
kill two birds with one stone

11 years agono point suggesting something that's required
Bdale Garbee [Sun, 23 May 2010 11:27:14 +0000 (05:27 -0600)]
no point suggesting something that's required

11 years agouse xz when lzma is called for
Bdale Garbee [Sun, 23 May 2010 11:25:06 +0000 (05:25 -0600)]
use xz when lzma is called for

12 years agomove gbp.conf into debian/
Bdale Garbee [Mon, 15 Mar 2010 21:31:48 +0000 (15:31 -0600)]
move gbp.conf into debian/

12 years agoMerge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 10 Mar 2010 16:52:02 +0000 (09:52 -0700)]
Merge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian

Conflicts:
build-aux/config.guess
build-aux/config.sub
src/list.c
tests/testsuite

12 years agoMerge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 10 Mar 2010 16:34:07 +0000 (09:34 -0700)]
Merge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig

Conflicts:
doc/Makefile.am
doc/Makefile.in
doc/genfile.texi
doc/getdate.texi
doc/snapshot.texi
doc/sparse.texi
doc/stamp-vti
doc/tar-snapshot-edit.texi
doc/tar.info
doc/tar.info-1
doc/tar.info-2
doc/tar.texi
doc/version.texi

12 years agoImported Upstream version 1.23
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 10 Mar 2010 16:33:01 +0000 (09:33 -0700)]
Imported Upstream version 1.23

12 years agosuggest lzma and xz
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 26 Jan 2010 22:21:46 +0000 (15:21 -0700)]
suggest lzma and xz

12 years agoprepare to upload
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 19:43:24 +0000 (13:43 -0600)]
prepare to upload

12 years agoMerge commit 'cworth/master' into dfsg-debian
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 19:33:11 +0000 (13:33 -0600)]
Merge commit 'cworth/master' into dfsg-debian

12 years agodebian/changelog: Fix missing colons on 'closes' clauses
Carl Worth [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 19:22:35 +0000 (12:22 -0700)]
debian/changelog: Fix missing colons on 'closes' clauses

Thanks to lintian for keeping my syntax clean and functional.

12 years agoDrop undefined B macro from tar man page, (fixes lintian warning)
Carl Worth [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 19:20:05 +0000 (12:20 -0700)]
Drop undefined B macro from tar man page, (fixes lintian warning)

This undefined macro was causing misformatting of the first line
of the man page:

   The first argument to should be...

rather than:

   The first argument to tar should be...

Presumably just dropping it misses out on some intending formatting,
(emboldening of the word tar perhaps?), but this is at least better
than the word being missing.

12 years agoRespect DEB_BUILD_OPTIONS=nocheck to conform with Debian Policy 3.8.2
Carl Worth [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 19:07:44 +0000 (12:07 -0700)]
Respect DEB_BUILD_OPTIONS=nocheck to conform with Debian Policy 3.8.2

This was the only change necessary to bring conformance up from 3.8.0,
and now lintian should be happier.

12 years agouse a maintainer version number
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 18:25:18 +0000 (12:25 -0600)]
use a maintainer version number

12 years agoMerge commit 'cworth/master' into dfsg-debian
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 18:15:20 +0000 (12:15 -0600)]
Merge commit 'cworth/master' into dfsg-debian

Conflicts:
debian/changelog
debian/control

12 years agodebian/changelog: Restore changelog entry for bug #18663
Carl Worth [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 18:09:58 +0000 (11:09 -0700)]
debian/changelog: Restore changelog entry for bug #18663

This was inadvertently lost after reverting my change and applying
upstream's instead.

12 years agoFix hard links recognition with -c --remove-files
Sergey Poznyakoff [Thu, 30 Jul 2009 20:48:04 +0000 (23:48 +0300)]
Fix hard links recognition with -c --remove-files

* src/create.c (dump_hard_link): Always look up in the link table
if remove_files_option is set. Patch suggested by Theodore Ts'o
<tytso@mit.edu>.
(check_links): Remove extra newline from the warning message.
* tests/link02.at, tests/link03.at: New testcases.
* tests/Makefile.am (TESTSUITE_AT): Add link02.at and link03.at
* tests/testsuite.at: Include link02.at and link03.at

12 years agoRevert "Preserve hard links with --remove-files"
Carl Worth [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 17:29:49 +0000 (10:29 -0700)]
Revert "Preserve hard links with --remove-files"

This reverts commit f1ed85d46043c523cd5b8196c1d266f3606a2531.

The idea behind these patches was just fine, but upstream just
accepted a slightly modified version, so I'm reverting mine in
favor of that from upstream.

12 years agoRevert "Add hardlinks test (to ensure they are preserved with --remove-files)"
Carl Worth [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 17:29:38 +0000 (10:29 -0700)]
Revert "Add hardlinks test (to ensure they are preserved with --remove-files)"

This reverts commit a75570c728ed2c3f65fb075491a07a9b4ade407f.

12 years agoadd Carl Worth as an authorized uploader for tar
Bdale Garbee [Tue, 4 Aug 2009 14:29:57 +0000 (09:29 -0500)]
add Carl Worth as an authorized uploader for tar

12 years agoAdd hardlinks test (to ensure they are preserved with --remove-files)
Carl Worth [Thu, 30 Jul 2009 04:26:23 +0000 (21:26 -0700)]
Add hardlinks test (to ensure they are preserved with --remove-files)

The new hardlinks.at test case verifies the fix in the previous
commit, (without that change the test fails, and with the change
the test passes).

12 years agoPreserve hard links with --remove-files
Carl Worth [Thu, 30 Jul 2009 03:45:58 +0000 (20:45 -0700)]
Preserve hard links with --remove-files

When the --remove-files option is in effect, it is no longer
reliable to use a file's link count to determine if we should
use the hash table for hard links. Instead, we look into the
hash table for every file when under the influence of the
--remove-files option.

12 years agoDon't close file stream before EOF, closes #525818
Carl Worth [Wed, 29 Jul 2009 23:10:01 +0000 (16:10 -0700)]
Don't close file stream before EOF, closes #525818

To fix bug #235820 src/list.c was modified to avoid printing
a confusing warning message about a lone zero block. However,
the change also caused the input stream to be closed before
reading EOF which could cause a SIGPIPE to be sent to the
writing process.

In this change, the previous fix is made more narrow to exclude
only the printing of the warning message, but without the side
effect that was causing the SIGPIPE.

12 years agoFix to allow parallel build (-j2), closes #535319
Carl Worth [Wed, 29 Jul 2009 21:21:50 +0000 (14:21 -0700)]
Fix to allow parallel build (-j2), closes #535319

We have to strictly serialize building after configuring, (by
making build-stamp depend on configure-stamp).

12 years agoRemove config.sub, config.guess, and testsuite files.
Carl Worth [Wed, 29 Jul 2009 20:42:35 +0000 (13:42 -0700)]
Remove config.sub, config.guess, and testsuite files.

These are automatically created as part of the build process so
should not be tracked as part of revision control.

12 years agoAdd .gitignore files for generated files.
Carl Worth [Wed, 29 Jul 2009 19:59:58 +0000 (12:59 -0700)]
Add .gitignore files for generated files.

There's the usual .o files, libraries, binaries, and build-system
stuff here, but also some generated .h files.

12 years agoAdd Carl Worth as an uploader.
Carl Worth [Wed, 29 Jul 2009 19:33:26 +0000 (12:33 -0700)]
Add Carl Worth as an uploader.

12 years agoincorporate changelog entry from NMU
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 1 Jul 2009 18:48:17 +0000 (15:48 -0300)]
incorporate changelog entry from NMU

12 years agoMerge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 1 Jul 2009 18:46:59 +0000 (15:46 -0300)]
Merge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian

12 years agoMerge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 1 Jul 2009 18:46:39 +0000 (15:46 -0300)]
Merge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig

12 years agopatch from upstream to restore SIGPIPE default action
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 1 Jul 2009 18:45:35 +0000 (15:45 -0300)]
patch from upstream to restore SIGPIPE default action

12 years agoremaining changes missed in reconstruction
Bdale Garbee [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 21:02:02 +0000 (15:02 -0600)]
remaining changes missed in reconstruction

12 years agooops, forgot to merge this back in during repo reconstruction
Bdale Garbee [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 21:00:56 +0000 (15:00 -0600)]
oops, forgot to merge this back in during repo reconstruction

12 years agomerge
Bdale Garbee [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 20:38:14 +0000 (14:38 -0600)]
merge

12 years agoMerge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian
Bdale Garbee [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 20:36:56 +0000 (14:36 -0600)]
Merge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian

12 years agoMerge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig
Bdale Garbee [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 20:36:43 +0000 (14:36 -0600)]
Merge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig

Conflicts:
doc/Makefile.in
doc/getdate.texi
doc/stamp-vti
doc/tar.info
doc/tar.info-1
doc/tar.info-2
doc/tar.texi
doc/version.texi

12 years agoImported Upstream version 1.22
Bdale Garbee [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 20:35:31 +0000 (14:35 -0600)]
Imported Upstream version 1.22

13 years agofix merge errors, update man page to include new and changed commands
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 06:55:48 +0000 (23:55 -0700)]
fix merge errors, update man page to include new and changed commands

13 years agoupdate changelog
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 06:16:30 +0000 (23:16 -0700)]
update changelog

13 years agoMerge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 06:14:55 +0000 (23:14 -0700)]
Merge branch 'dfsg-orig' into dfsg-debian

Conflicts:
cleanup-script.sh
tests/incremental.at

13 years agoMerge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig, improve cleanup-script.sh
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 06:12:02 +0000 (23:12 -0700)]
Merge branch 'upstream' into dfsg-orig, improve cleanup-script.sh

Conflicts:
doc/Makefile.in
doc/getdate.texi
doc/stamp-vti
doc/tar.info
doc/tar.info-1
doc/tar.info-2
doc/tar.texi
doc/version.texi

13 years agoImported Upstream version 1.21
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 06:05:42 +0000 (23:05 -0700)]
Imported Upstream version 1.21

13 years agoupdate to current standards version
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:37:17 +0000 (22:37 -0700)]
update to current standards version

13 years agoduplicate changes from updating cleanup script in dfsg-orig branch
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:27:41 +0000 (22:27 -0700)]
duplicate changes from updating cleanup script in dfsg-orig branch

13 years agoimprove cleanup script... we need the Makefile fragments in doc/
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:26:45 +0000 (22:26 -0700)]
improve cleanup script... we need the Makefile fragments in doc/

13 years agoimprove the cleanup script to actually have a chance of working
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:25:41 +0000 (22:25 -0700)]
improve the cleanup script to actually have a chance of working

13 years agochange the way config.{sub,guess} are updated to work better with git
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:16:36 +0000 (22:16 -0700)]
change the way config.{sub,guess} are updated to work better with git

13 years agooops, didn't really want cruft file there!
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:13:15 +0000 (22:13 -0700)]
oops, didn't really want cruft file there!

13 years agocreate config file for git-buildpackage
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:09:06 +0000 (22:09 -0700)]
create config file for git-buildpackage

13 years agofold in previous work on tar 1.20
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:05:37 +0000 (22:05 -0700)]
fold in previous work on tar 1.20

13 years agostrip docs under GFDL which are not DFSG-compliant
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 04:57:41 +0000 (21:57 -0700)]
strip docs under GFDL which are not DFSG-compliant

13 years agoImported Upstream version 1.20
Bdale Garbee [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 04:50:59 +0000 (21:50 -0700)]
Imported Upstream version 1.20