hgbook-git
14 years agoMake it clear that the typo in the first commit message is intentional master
Carl Worth [Tue, 12 Feb 2008 21:56:17 +0000 (13:56 -0800)]
Make it clear that the typo in the first commit message is intentional

14 years agoReword a sentence to be less awkward
Carl Worth [Tue, 12 Feb 2008 21:48:46 +0000 (13:48 -0800)]
Reword a sentence to be less awkward

14 years agoFix several typos
Victor B. Gonzalez [Tue, 12 Feb 2008 21:37:29 +0000 (13:37 -0800)]
Fix several typos

14 years agoRemove trailing whitespace
Carl Worth [Tue, 12 Feb 2008 21:34:27 +0000 (13:34 -0800)]
Remove trailing whitespace

14 years agoFix broken backslash escapes for < and >
Carl Worth [Sun, 30 Sep 2007 03:15:44 +0000 (20:15 -0700)]
Fix broken backslash escapes for < and >

These don't work at all, (and sure enough they are not documented as
possible escapes in markdown---but I think that's a bug). Anyway, use
backquotes for now so that <foo> and <file> actually appear in the output.

14 years agoTypo fixes and clarifications suggested by Junio C Hamano
Carl Worth [Sun, 30 Sep 2007 02:49:38 +0000 (19:49 -0700)]
Typo fixes and clarifications suggested by Junio C Hamano

14 years agoProtect characters being misinterpreted as markup (_, <, and >).
Carl Worth [Sun, 30 Sep 2007 02:33:53 +0000 (19:33 -0700)]
Protect characters being misinterpreted as markup (_, <, and >).

14 years agoTypo fixes suggested by "salty-horse"
Carl Worth [Sun, 30 Sep 2007 01:12:11 +0000 (18:12 -0700)]
Typo fixes suggested by "salty-horse"

14 years agoFix command-line example for Gentoo (need dev-util category)
Carl Worth [Sun, 30 Sep 2007 00:53:15 +0000 (17:53 -0700)]
Fix command-line example for Gentoo (need dev-util category)

Thanks to both Nguyen Thai Ngoc Duy and Priit Laes for pointing this out.

14 years agoAdd gitk-fetch.png image
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 22:03:52 +0000 (15:03 -0700)]
Add gitk-fetch.png image

14 years agoRewrite push and pull examples i a more "git-friendly" fashion
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 22:02:54 +0000 (15:02 -0700)]
Rewrite push and pull examples i a more "git-friendly" fashion

We now take advantage of remotes and use master..origin rather
than the magic FETCH_HEAD.

14 years agoAdd note about inconsitency of which dates git-log uses by default
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 17:22:55 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
Add note about inconsitency of which dates git-log uses by default

14 years agoEliminate extra spaces in section headers
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 16:44:37 +0000 (09:44 -0700)]
Eliminate extra spaces in section headers

14 years agoFix typo: wihch -> which
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 16:30:33 +0000 (09:30 -0700)]
Fix typo: wihch -> which

14 years agoMotivate the desired to checkout old revisions without reference to 'hg update'
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 16:29:34 +0000 (09:29 -0700)]
Motivate the desired to checkout old revisions without reference to 'hg update'

14 years agoJustify 'git commit -a' by comparing it to 'git add <files>'
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 16:11:25 +0000 (09:11 -0700)]
Justify 'git commit -a' by comparing it to 'git add <files>'

This is better than comparing it to 'git add <files>; git commit'
which forces potentially unfamiliar index notions on the poor
user.

14 years agoMake it more clear that the git-clone example is intended to actually be performed
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 16:02:32 +0000 (09:02 -0700)]
Make it more clear that the git-clone example is intended to actually be performed

14 years agoFix wording (use diverged instead of derived)
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 15:52:28 +0000 (08:52 -0700)]
Fix wording (use diverged instead of derived)

Again thanks to Keith for noticing.

14 years agoFix typo of 2008 instead of 2007
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 15:45:02 +0000 (08:45 -0700)]
Fix typo of 2008 instead of 2007

Thanks to Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com> for noticing this.

14 years agoLinkify git-web link and fix Ubuntu command
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 09:30:47 +0000 (02:30 -0700)]
Linkify git-web link and fix Ubuntu command

14 years agoFix a mis-numbered section
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:36:52 +0000 (01:36 -0700)]
Fix a mis-numbered section

14 years agoFix formatting of git-clone example commands
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:36:02 +0000 (01:36 -0700)]
Fix formatting of git-clone example commands

14 years agoAdd pointers to git repositories for the source
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:31:44 +0000 (01:31 -0700)]
Add pointers to git repositories for the source

14 years agoClarify the wording of one sentence.
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:24:03 +0000 (01:24 -0700)]
Clarify the wording of one sentence.

14 years agoAdd note about origin..master and master..origin as replacements for hg incoming...
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:20:38 +0000 (01:20 -0700)]
Add note about origin..master and .origin as replacements for hg incoming/outgoing

14 years agoRemove non-existent figure
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:14:26 +0000 (01:14 -0700)]
Remove non-existent figure

14 years agoRemove trailing whitespace
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:13:52 +0000 (01:13 -0700)]
Remove trailing whitespace

14 years agoPort section 2.8 (sharing changes) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 08:11:53 +0000 (01:11 -0700)]
Port section 2.8 (sharing changes) from mercurial to git

14 years agoPort section 2.7 (recording changes) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 07:23:57 +0000 (00:23 -0700)]
Port section 2.7 (recording changes) from mercurial to git

14 years agoPort 2.6 (making and reviewing changes) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 05:24:25 +0000 (22:24 -0700)]
Port 2.6 (making and reviewing changes) from mercurial to git

14 years agoPort 2.5 (all about command options) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 05:10:29 +0000 (22:10 -0700)]
Port 2.5 (all about command options) from mercurial to git

14 years agoMention -n as an alias for--max-count
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 05:10:12 +0000 (22:10 -0700)]
Mention -n as an alias for--max-count

14 years agoPort section 2.4 (a tour through history) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 04:58:28 +0000 (21:58 -0700)]
Port section 2.4 (a tour through history) from mercurial to git

14 years agoTrack some changes in the tutorial repository
Carl Worth [Fri, 28 Sep 2007 02:47:38 +0000 (19:47 -0700)]
Track some changes in the tutorial repository

It's packed now, and the author dates are fixed.

14 years agoConvert funky space-like characters to space
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 23:45:47 +0000 (16:45 -0700)]
Convert funky space-like characters to space

Apparently the original HTML (or something in the conversion process)
gave us some funky UTF-8 character, (0xC2 0xA0), where I would expect
a simple space. This was causing problems when trying to cut-and-paste
example commands from the document, (since bash wouldn't break the
command-line on the non-space characters). Replace all these with good
old ASCII spaces.

14 years agoPort section 2.3 (working with a repository) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 23:43:38 +0000 (16:43 -0700)]
Port section 2.3 (working with a repository) from mercurial to git

14 years agoPort section 2.2 (Getting started) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 23:13:25 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
Port section 2.2 (Getting started) from mercurial to git

14 years agoPort section 2.1 (Installing) from mercurial to git
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 23:06:13 +0000 (16:06 -0700)]
Port section 2.1 (Installing) from mercurial to git

14 years agoStart a list of dated modifications made to the document
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 23:00:29 +0000 (16:00 -0700)]
Start a list of dated modifications made to the document

This is an OPL requirement. We also satisfy other OPL requirements
by explicitly stating that this is a modified document and that
it is not endorsed by Bryan O'Sullivan.

14 years agoConvert examples to proper markdown style (tab-indented)
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 22:52:33 +0000 (15:52 -0700)]
Convert examples to proper markdown style (tab-indented)

Also drop line numbers from the examples, (I don't *think* the
text references these.

14 years agoFill all paragraphs
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 22:49:18 +0000 (15:49 -0700)]
Fill all paragraphs

It's nice to have everything fit comfortably within 80 columns

14 years agoRemove unused navigation bars
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 22:43:55 +0000 (15:43 -0700)]
Remove unused navigation bars

14 years agoAdd OPL text as attachment D
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 22:43:32 +0000 (15:43 -0700)]
Add OPL text as attachment D

This is more robust than just including a URL for the license.

14 years agoAdd copyright statement and license information
Carl Worth [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 20:57:44 +0000 (13:57 -0700)]
Add copyright statement and license information

This brings the document into conformance with the Open Publication
License and should allow republication.

14 years agoInitial import of chapter 2 of hgbook
Bryan O’Sullivan [Thu, 27 Sep 2007 20:53:23 +0000 (13:53 -0700)]
Initial import of chapter 2 of hgbook

This chapter was obtained from:

http://hgbook.red-bean.com/hgbookch2.html#x6-230002

on September 27, 2007 and converted to markdown format with
html2text.py