Disambiguate Debian notmuch package and notmuch for emacs package.
[notmuch-wiki] / wiki-license-history.mdwn
1 [[!img notmuch-logo.png alt="Notmuch logo" class="left"]]
2 # Wiki License History
3
4 The wiki originally had no explicit licensing text. This has been fixed since
5 the wiki commit
6 [COPYING: The wiki is now dual licensed under CC-BY-SA-3.0 and GPL v3+](https://git.notmuchmail.org/git/notmuch-wiki/commit/8ca2edf66a79cd4dcc628cafc0c9801007f2ab71)
7 with the addition of [[COPYING]]. To be able to do that all the commits before
8 the license change had to be accounted for; this page is a description of it for
9 posterity.
10
11 All the content in the wiki fell into one of these categories, in decreasing
12 order of quantity:
13
14 * The authors have agreed that all of their contributions to the notmuch
15   wiki can be dual licensed under CC-BY-SA-3.0 and GPL v3+.
16
17 * The content is copied from the notmuch main repository and is licensed
18   under GPL v3+. Effectively this is the man pages.
19
20 * The authors have not been reached but their contribution have been a
21   very minor or trivial change or cleanup of content falling into above
22   categories.
23
24 * The authors have not been reached but the content has been deleted.
25
26 Below is first a list of authors who have agreed to the license change. Next is
27 a list of commits identifying the content in the last three categories. Finally,
28 at the end of the page, is a script for verifying the commits in the wiki
29 repository against the authors and the commits.
30
31 ## Authors
32
33 The following authors have stated, "I agree that all of my contributions to the
34 notmuch wiki can be dual licensed under CC-BY-SA-3.0 and GPL v3+."
35
36         Adam Wolfe Gordon <awg@xvx.ca>
37         Adeodato Simó <dato@net.com.org.es>
38         Alexandru Ghitza <aghitza@alum.mit.edu>
39         Amadeusz Żołnowski <aidecoe@aidecoe.name>
40         Andrei Popescu <andreimpopescu@gmail.com>
41         Antoine Amarilli <a3nm@a3nm.net>
42         Austin Clements <amdragon@mit.edu>
43         Ben Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
44         Bernard `Guyzmo` Pratz <guyzmo+notmuch@m0g.net>
45         Carl Worth <cworth@cworth.org>
46         Carl Worth <cworth@olra.theworths.org>
47         Charles Celerier <cceleri@cs.stanford.edu>
48         Daniel Schoepe <daniel@schoepe.org>
49         David Bremner <bremner@debian.org>
50         David Bremner <bremner@unb.ca>
51         David Bremner <david@tethera.net>
52         David Edmondson <dme@dme.org>
53         Faidon Liambotis <paravoid@debian.org>
54         Florian Friesdorf <flo@chaoflow.net>
55         Gregor Zattler <telegraph@gmx.net>
56         Guyzmo <guyzmo+github@m0g.net>
57         Hamish Downer <hamish@foobacca.co.uk>
58         Jameson Graef Rollins <jrollins@finestructure.net>
59         Jameson Rollins <jrollins@finestructure.net>
60         Jani Nikula <jani@nikula.org>
61         Jesse Rosenthal <jkr@commonmeasure.org>
62         Jesse Rosenthal <jkr@watt>
63         Jesse Rosenthal <jrosenthal@jhu.edu>
64         Justus Winter <4winter@informatik.uni-hamburg.de>
65         Kenyon Ralph <kenyon@kenyonralph.com>
66         Kristian Høgsberg <krh@bitplanet.net>
67         Mark Walters <markwalters1009@gmail.com>
68         Maximilian Mehnert <maximilian.mehnert@gmx.de>
69         Michael Kesper <mkesper@schokokeks.org>
70         Michael Stapelberg <michael@stapelberg.de>
71         Michal Sojka <sojka@os.inf.tu-dresden.de>
72         Michal Sojka <sojkam1@fel.cvut.cz>
73         Petr Baudis <pasky@ucw.cz>
74         Philip Hands <phil@hands.com>
75         Ralph Giles <giles@thaumas.net>
76         Robbie Harwood (frozencemetery) <rharwood@club.cc.cmu.edu>
77         Sean Escriva <sean.escriva@gmail.com>
78         Sebastian Fischmeister <sfischme@uwaterloo.ca>
79         Sebastian Spaeth <Sebastian@SSpaeth.de>
80         Sergei Shilovsky <sshilovsky@gmail.com>
81         Soeren Finster <sf@9by6.org>
82         Stefano Zacchiroli <zack@upsilon.cc>
83         Svend Sorensen <svend@ciffer.net>
84         Thomas Schwinge <thomas@schwinge.name>
85         Thorsten Behrens <tbehrens@suse.com>
86         Tim Stoakes <tim@stoakes.net>
87         Tomi Ollila <tomi.ollila@iki.fi>
88         Tomi Ollila <too@iki.fi>
89         Vagrant Cascadian <vagrant@debian.org>
90         W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
91         Xavier Maillard <xma@gnu.org>
92         frozencemetery <frozencemetery@localhost.localdomain>
93         martin f. krafft <madduck@madduck.net>
94         Øyvind A. Holm <sunny@sunbase.org>
95
96 ## Commits
97
98 The following commits, from authors who could not be reached, have been deemed
99 non-copyrightable (as trivial, cleanup, etc.) or the content has been deleted:
100
101         44097e84934cdeb300cb526b682e710c4784383d trivial
102         e8571f19c1be03b7b29fa28cba80b7bde3cc7b8a news; GPLv3+ from notmuch repo
103         85063ec790ce2f7152318d225581e5f4fb96ede4 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
104         2c97f666c6c97bac025e5666afbc02a07e78f30d deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
105         64753682ebcac84b8934d2c682f575c74d9dc7ca deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
106         1d7231bf3d86fc9bccf2c04f55b8586fb56c1737 add link
107         8d3942dde2b3f4b84c27c36e6357e86b3f117c49 deleted content (patchformatting.mdwn)
108         bdb4c3bd6c7be4fd1d83f6346c789061a5e92417 trivial
109         64780f2d6503854f503fd49913da07465e49043d deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
110         0eb698568098800852272a7255e766de5988c7b5 trivial
111         e5c004916ff69ea08403dffe5ee50f5cafe1b0e8 trivial
112         91415226d1831ea35d5567997c8431b47ca0db61 cleanup
113         cfab60c68413c111d4b4462ed002f83332f33f4e trivial
114         679a378c83370aeacc603ed161208da2288e902a deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
115         87f260230e0d98fe1e3007205105268ed52bfb45 trivial
116         ebe33962ec06e29afd80d9130f5f3ab96382d732 add link
117         22f25b55898bee292bb841b9baec2865de470122 trivial
118         4277e59a21ed364e987408dbf2ba62cb3b2f0938 trivial
119         2d44339b72f243553f08c9dae1c182aec0380e82 cleanup
120         f1bc6af50df4383abc038fd22d26356eb18075bc deleted content (author not reachable)
121         cc8370490738411c7a33fc0f0c2a318e8b5da897 deleted content (rewritten)
122         8a5cd7bd9456fa5caf243e50ca288c95371bd573 trivial
123         e37567f20588e4075b06efd8e29d29f70338ad8c merge
124         703ae92a5c0acdbea5384b36b78ea341e0b07da1 deleted content (rewritten)
125         e9e13d3e669e822d7d453c89e4326a64c829c7c2 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
126         ed1a219c82539da3768812731786d6b34e0ec3d5 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
127         0a81a0425754e58b128d7323bdb134a773eb60b6 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
128         9c5f2d5178d5702c5342fa6afdfabf93d21e0e1f merge
129         c9f9c63e11d4b8aa534457b9ae042c5c1e34fef3 link to deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
130         5c10a55951057c3f4d05657c24c00898dd0556d1 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
131         37599ae0c3839973e458d99e1b63a4844acdd454 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
132         4f3e942c093abe74ca449482d7be5f56e37debf8 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
133         54e98175f11a9d8e0ab587f86f37ded9fa4140f8 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
134         5386734f85877be5cec661a86bc64b5732340687 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
135         4b5bf116f4dbc79be9910bcb6641dbb73fec7388 deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
136         b8c1f4bfa1c09f0b096869deddea468db5e78d5f deleted content (feature-requests.mdwn)
137         8b5bfd125901ec41f16f4581f36deeec589c584e cleanup
138         653e0f2c2a337264d666a05bb48893d7e90a5980 trivial
139         c6b6f82f02ce133e78e2fba743b0f2bebd2a1769 trivial
140         7d4ba3c04557a156c3091239cb78271abb211e0a trivial / movement
141         a5b25a6c5fff843a940424f04a298d33ab563ce5 trivial
142         8b22c661bd75a1ca15ef6d0b4a60c8224f059039 trivial / rewritten
143         80bdaf9762c7f8fdf3ae37ee660234eddbef0dda rewritten
144
145 ## License Check Script
146
147 You can put the above lists to two files, and run them through this script to
148 show all commits that are not accounted for by one way or another (if everything
149 is well, this should not print anything).
150
151         #!/bin/sh
152
153         if [ "$#" != 2 ]; then
154                 echo "usage: $0 agree.txt ignore.txt"
155                 exit 1
156         fi
157
158         # cutoff point where license was switched
159         cutoff=8ca2edf66a79cd4dcc628cafc0c9801007f2ab71
160
161         # file listing all authors that have agreed to license change
162         agree=$1
163
164         # file listing all commits that can be ignored
165         ignore=$2
166
167         # for each commit from authors that have *not* agreed to license change
168         for commit in $(git log --format="format:%H %aN <%aE>" $cutoff | \
169                 grep -v -f $agree | cut -f 1 -d " "); do
170
171                 # display commits that are *not* trivial, cleanup, deleted, etc.
172                 if ! grep -q $commit $ignore; then
173                         git --no-pager show $commit
174                 fi
175         done